The Twilight Zone and Me

Image

In 2013 I have set myself the aim of watching every episode of The Twilight Zone. Nobody has yet asked me why but I’m going to tell you anyway. I’m not really a fan of horror films – I’ve never seen the classics save for The Shining and The Exorcist and I have no urge to ever see them.

The only things I remember watching when I was little and being scared out of my wits by were Soft Cell on Top of the Pops in 1981, an episode of Thunderbirds involving a bomb and a lift – I saw it a few years ago and got over my fear of marionettes being bombed in a lift – and The Twilight Zone: The Movie – not counting the fact that three people actually got killed in the making of the thing it was the Dan Akroyd thing that really freaked me out.

Anyway, my good friend Heather Morrow from Shawnee in Kansas who I have known for nearly 20 years always manages to plant seeds in my head about books I should read, films I should see and occasionally music I should listen to and when I saw her last year she spoke to me about The Twilight Zone and how she uses it in teaching and I’ve been thinking about it a lot since then.

The Twilight Zone is shorthand for all things creepy and mysterious (and who doesn’t sing the theme tune’s riff when something freaky happens to them?) but my knowledge of it is limited to that film, the occasional clip of it shown when a famous TZ alumni dies (e.g. Jack Klugman last week) or dim and distant memories of watching it in the middle of the night in the 80s when HTV Wales stuck in on as a schedule filler.

So with Heather’s praise of the show nagging away at me I decided that in 2013 my challenge is going to be to view all 156 episodes of The Twilight Zone and use this brand spanking new blog to let you know how it goes and what I think of each episode.

Wish me luck.

4 thoughts on “The Twilight Zone and Me

  1. I was almost tempted to start the Twilight Zone collection now that they have been remastered onto blu ray… I’ll see what you think and maybe dip in!

    • I have the blu-rays and will be making a start on them later on in the week. They look fantastic and I downloaded copy of the TZ Companion to keep me informed thought my watching!

      • You will love each one. I just finished “The Living Doll” on SyFy New Year’s eve special. It was one of my students favorite’s (?) We wore out the disk. My copies are in bad shape but I still love them. Do not wait your time with the series when he was forced to put on the hour version. The color distroys the effect, mood and general feeling of the unknown. He hated them. Heather

Leave a Reply

